Posted by: rudyruddell | October 16, 2011

Letters to The Catholic Church to Get Excommunicated

9/29/11

Mr. Herbert

Canon Law Department

Diocese of Oakland

2121 Harrison Street #100

Oakland, CA 94612

Dear Mr. Herbert:

Confirming our telephone conversation on 9/26/11, you reiterated Mr. Staal’s position that no one can ever get removed from the list of approximately 1 billion Catholics because the Catholic Church, the largest criminal organization that harbors pedophile priests, counts the people who have been baptised Catholic and never  removes them until they die, thus deceptively appearing to maintain a large membership. Thus, in spite of my being an apostate atheist and blasphemer, you can never give me what I want the most from you, removal from your membership list..

In addition, you said that I cannot get excommunicated by flipping off the bishop; rather, I must do something “heinous” for the bishop to grant me my second request, formal excommunication in order disassociate myself from the Catholics as much as possible. Since Hitler killing 6 million Jews was not heinous enough for him to get excommunicated, I do not think I could do something heinous enough to meet my objective.

So, I have decided to take a more civil approach. My plan is to stage a protest in front of your building and alert the local TV station for them to record it. I have extensive contacts in the Bay Area atheist community, so I am sure I can get significant participation. I would rather just get my formal excommunication, but I think the protest would be fun and beneficial to society by focusing the public’s attention on the Catholics’ unwillingness to excommunicate me because my conscience will not allow me to continue to be associated with an organization that, for  decades and possibly centuries, has allowed pedophile priests to rape children and then hide them by moving them to other parishes.

I have other activities planned if this does not work to get my written excommunication effected and none of them will involve good publicity for your diocese. Thus, for the benefit of us all please talk to the bishop and convince him to grant me my wish. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Dwight ‘Rudy’ Ruddell

cc: Bishop Cordelione, Robert Herbst

9/17/11
Mr. Herbst

Canon Law Department

Diocese of Oakland

2121 Harrison Street #100

Oakland, CA 94612

I have sent to Bishop Cordileone a Declaration of Defection on 8/2/11 and a request for excommunication on 9/6/11. After leaving 3 voice-mails for  David Staal, the person who deals with the bishop’s mail, I received a return phone call from him on 9/16/11. Mr. Staal. explained to me that excommunication does not give me what I want –namely, removal from the 1 billion person headcount of the Catholic Church roster. Mr. Staal explained that the Roman Catholic Church includes in those 1 billion people, those who are excommunicated or are otherwise alienated from the Catholic Church. Excommunication only serves to disqualify an individual from drinking the sip of wine and eating the cracker at church.

In spite of my disappointment that the Catholics will not remove me from the Catholic roster, I have decided that I still want to be excommunicated and receive a document from the Catholic Church that says I may never again drink the wine or eat the cracker offered by the people in front of the church. I wish to receive this document in order to frame it and proudly hang it on my wall as a representation of my disassociation with the church that harbors pedophile priests, fosters the spread of AIDS in Africa by discouraging condom use, spreads teenage pregnancy by teaching abstinence rather than sex education, killed many thousands of infidels and alleged witches throughout history, and many other atrocities.

Just to make sure that I qualify for excommunication, in spite of my clear indications in my previous letters shown in the attached, I want to be clear that I am an apostate of the Roman Catholic Church and I am proud of it. I have completely rejected the faith of the Catholic Church. I do not believe in any gods. I do not believe that any Jesus Christ was resurrected from the dead and I even doubt that Jesus ever existed. The Catholic faith is based on a delusion that was propagated and institutionalized by Constantine in 325 CE in order to control his people. I believe in abortion, masturbation, and birth control. I am the antithesis of a Catholic. In fact, I told the Priest, the late Mr. Crumlish, when I went through Catholic education, that I did not believe in any gods. He said that was okay. I only joined the church to appease my Catholic wife. So please excommunicate this 37 year veteran of atheism from the Catholic Church and send me a document that expresses said excommunication.

Sincerely,

Dwight  ‘Rudy’ Ruddell

Atheist, Blasphemer, Supporter of Abortion, Birth Control & Masturbation

9/6/11

Salvator Cordileone

Diocese of Oakland

2121 Harrison Street #100

Oakland, CA 94612

Dear Bishop Cordileone,

I am writing to request excommunication from The Catholic Church. My parish is Transfiguration Church of Castro Valley in the diocese of Oakland, where I was baptised. I am currently resident in the Diocese of Oakland.

I am an atheist and have been one since 1975. I am an active member of American Atheists.
I lied to the Catholic Church when I said that I renounce Satan. I do not renounce him.
I am an ordained minister of The Church of Atheism.
I believe in the woman’s right to get abortions.
I believe that being homosexual is not a sin.
I believe masturbation is not a sin. In fact, I believe masturbation is good for the health.
I believe in birth control.
I think the Pope is a criminal and should be put in jail for his crime of harboring child molesters.
I hereby renounce all the trappings of religion.
I renounce all blessings, benefits, graces, sanctifications, and advantages supposedly conferred on me by any religion or by any religious act done by me or on my behalf in the past, present or future.
I condemn as monstrous the idea of original sin, and renounce any baptism done on my behalf to wash it away.
I reject as ridiculous the idea of an atoning sacrifice and spurn its presumed benefits.
I do not believe that any god, supernatural realm or afterlife exists, and will not act as if they did.
I do not believe that any book, building, place, person, thing or action is holy and will not pretend that they are.
I do not think that praying is anything more than talking to oneself and will not make believe that it is.
I do not believe that any person is more sanctified than any other, or that any human being should be elevated above another in any way, due to ancestry, race, gender, occupation, belief or for any other reason and will not feign that I do.
As a principled and rational person, it pains me that someone, somewhere may be counting me as an adherent of an irrational superstition which has done and is doing irreparable harm to humanity and with which I profoundly disagree. Please remove my name from the records of the church, and record that I am no longer a Roman Catholic. Please send me confirmation of this action. Please do this as soon as possible.
Signature___________________________I enclose a completed and signed “Declaration of Defection”, along with my personal details. In addition, I would be grateful if you could communicate with me once these changes have been made.

Regards,

[Dwight Ruddell]

Declaration of Defection from

the Roman Catholic Church

(Actus formalis defectionis ab Ecclesia catholica)

I,  Dwight Ruddell , do hereby give formal notice of my defection from the Roman Catholic Church. I want it to be known that I no longer wish to be regarded as a member of the Roman Catholic Church.

I further declare that I am aware of the consequences of this act regarding the reception of the sacraments of the Church, including the sacraments of the Eucharist, marriage and the sick and also with regard to burial.

I undertake to make this decision known to my next of kin and to ensure that they are aware of these circumstances in the case of my being incapacitated.

I acknowledge that I make this declaration under solemn oath, being of sound mind and body, and in the presence of a witness who can testify as to the validity of this document.

Signed

Dwight Ruddell

Witness

Diocese of Birth: N/A was not born into the church

Parish of Birth: N/A was not born into the church

Responses

  1. Soo… don’t leave us hanging. What happened? Did you get your walking papers? Have you embarked on a qualifying quest to systematically eliminate 7 million left-handed people in order to eclipse Hitler?

    Perhaps if you were to bring a little bowl of salsa (or, better yet, hummus) to the next mass and stand just next to line of good folks as they picked up their complimentary wafers and offered them a free dip….

    • On 11/11/11, I made a “Catholic Church Harbors Pedophiles” sandwich sign and wore it in front of the Oakland Diocese, but the head priests were locked inside so they did not even know I was there.

      Up until 4/11, there was a way to get a baptismal certificate annotated to show defection, but the church eliminated that provision after too many people took advantage of it. The following website that helped people defect suspended operations because of the elimination of the defection option: http://www.countmeout.ie/why/

      I could try to get excommunicated, but even if I did, I would still be a member, just not in good standing. Hitler was never excommunicated so I would need to do something worse than Hitler.

      I thought of going to mass and when they hand me the cracker, I would drop it and step on it, then hand them a copy of my letter requesting excommunication, but I really don’t feel right about doing that because of the innocent people I would upset. It may not even be effective. I may have to go to multiple churches. I am working up the courage to do that. Your interest in this matter does give me some inspiration though. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

